Daily Archives: December 5, 2011

Getting ready for Christmas

So for some reason this Christmas is one that I am looking forward to in a big way. Maybe it is because Annie really gets it this year. She has been talking for well over a month about how Santa is going to bring her rock and roll Mickey. It is loud and annoying but she mentions it EVERY SINGLE DAY so Santa will definitely put it in his sleigh for her.

One of my favorite memories for this Christmas was when I got home on a Saturday morning after working the night shift and was winding down sitting on the couch. Pretty soon I hear the thump thump thump of little feet on the stairs. Annie came down dragging her blanket behind her. She crawled up onto my lap and I tucked her quilt around us. She snuggled sleepily into my shoulder and whispered ” Santa is going to bring me everything”. It was such a sweet moment of so much innocence.

Of course the actually BEING of Santa is a whole nother story. We went to our local zoo to see the Christmas light display. It was gorgeous. I am really loving this 50 degree weather in December following our freak October snowstorm. At the end of walk they had pictures with Santa. Annie was very excited to stand in line for her turn. When we got up to the front she changed her mind. The girl who was working was great. She asked Annie to do her a big favor and take an ornament up to Santa that he needed. Annie dutifully delivered the ornament and with a helpful little encouragement from Mama she did get “kind of” close to whisper to Santa to bring her her beloved Mickey.

This is as close as I am gonna get

The light display was really fun and Annie loved the visit to the barn. It was the only area where the animals were out for this event. WordPress is not letting me write anything else below the pictures or let me caption them so I will save more holiday preparations for another day.

 
wish I could do this in my yard

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized